Mon. Sep 25th, 2023

On Nov. 8, voters across the country and here in Michigan exercised one of our most fundamental rights: the right to vote.
For months, pundits and the political class told us there would be a red wave. MAGA Republicans campaigned across Michigan to take away our reproductive rights and our sacred right to vote, confident they would triumph. And most egregiously, many of them campaigned on taking away our constitutional right to choose who leads us, supporting former President Donald Trump in his criminal conspiracy to overturn the results of the 2020 election.
Michigan proved them wrong.
Voters in Michigan delivered a “stiff rebuke” to election deniers and affirmed voting protections. Michiganders voted for democracy on Nov. 8, rejecting high-profile, anti-voter election deniers such as Tudor Dixon, Matthew DePerno and Kristina Karamo, who wanted to be Michigan’s governor, attorney general and secretary of state, respectively.
Democrats flipped control of the state Legislature to gain a trifecta for the first time in 40 years. MAGA conspiracy theorist John Gibbs was defeated by Hillary Scholten in Michigan’s 3rd Congressional District, and Elissa Slotkin defeated an election denier to return to Congress in the 8th District.
On top of that, Michigan voters passed Proposal 2, which protects the fundamental right to vote without harassment, a 6-day grace period after Election Day for military serving overseas to have their ballots counted and provides nine days of early in-person voting.
All of this should be heartening to anyone who cares about democracy. However, the fight to make Michigan’s elections safe, secure and accessible isn’t over. Staggeringly, half of the incoming Michigan GOP lawmakers to the state Legislature are election deniers.
Additionally, DePerno, a far-right conspiracy theorist who is under investigation for tampering with voting machines in 2020, is a leading candidate for chairman of the Michigan Republican Party. Dixon has also hinted at running for party chair. One of the current co-chairs, Meshawn Maddock, is a hardline election denier and insurrectionist who played an active role in the Jan. 6 attack on the U.S. Capitol.
Three Republicans re-elected to Congress from Michigan — U.S. Reps. Lisa McClain (R-Bruce Twp.), Jack Bergman (R-Watersmeet) and Tim Walberg (R-Tipton) — voted to throw out the results of the 2020 presidential election. A fourth, Bill Huizenga (R-Zeeland), joined these three in signing a lawsuit to block Michigan and three other states from casting their Electoral College votes for President Joe Biden.
Voting is critical to the integrity of our democracy. All Michigan voters should have confidence that our voices will be heard and our votes counted no matter what political party or candidate we support, where we live or what we look like. For Michigan to be a place where everyone has an opportunity to succeed, we must ensure that voters pick our government, not the other way around — where politicians rig elections.
We must continue to be vigilant and defend democracy at every opportunity.
Rep. Donna Lasinski (Scio Township) is Michigan House Democratic Leader.


By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *